Planetfall BWEND
Planetfall BWRELEND
HomeRELENDREF
HomeBDREF
SABDREF
Planetfall Planetfall SABD
It's To-Po!


Site Games Miscellaneous /
Jan 27, 2020 2:40 ESTReply | Topic List | Forums List | Edit Profile | Help | Sign Up

Forums :: Shadow Aura :: Extension

<- Prev Post   -   Next Post ->
Page:  1 
Afiag

Posts: 252
Member #242

Nov 25, 2007 4:46
E-Mail Master Account Battling Dragons R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  Why has my defending battle of Sloombra against Metal_Cory been mysteriously extended for a day on the final day of battle, twice?
  It's costing me the battle, because I expected the match to be over with after last night. Not tomorrow night...
  
  I've also just realized that somehow the opponent has defeated 9/10 of my monsters, but I understand that that's impossible because I've had 2 Bitheds use Root and I only have 7 defeated monsters on the grid.
  And I have defeated 6/7 of his monsters, not the 2/7 in the information display.
  
  Am I misinterpreting the Root ability? Because I don't think 'escaping danger' by becoming a nature tile means 'screw yourself over.'
  
  
  I'm just having one extremely screwed up battle.
  
  
  

  I dare you to click this.

  
  [Edited by Afiag on Nov 25, 2007 4:50]
Lugiatrainer

Posts: 397
Member #20

Nov 25, 2007 6:08
Master Account Battling Dragons Shadow Aura Endless Night's Dream R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  If they're already defeated, when you root, they'll still count as defeated.
Afiag

Posts: 252
Member #242

Nov 25, 2007 10:32
E-Mail Master Account Battling Dragons R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  They weren't already defeated.
  
We're just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year.
MintMan

Posts: 4037
Member #1

Nov 25, 2007 12:11
E-Mail Web Site Master Account Battling Dragons Shadow Aura Endless Night's Dream R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  They still count towards your "defeated" troops because they are no longer on the field, but they aren't actually dead. See, you aren't supposed to use the Root/Vanity ability when you are still on the field. It is supposed to be used once you are defeated to negate the now enemy controlled tile the enemy has or to place one of your own on an advantagous spot. You can get a li'l life out of a Bithed by removing them before an attack, but with the asynchronous nature of SA, Rooting after an attack is supposed to be taken as dodging.
  
  (Also, the Root ability says nothing about "escaping danger". Way to know how to use quotation marks!)
  
  The battle is extending because your opponent is acting, by my guess, especially since his most recent activity is shown as more recent than yours. If the battles ended hard (as they once did), people just act at the last minute to steal the win, much like donut-holes on eBay.
  Thus, acting twenty-four hours before the end of a fight extends the end by Embarrassed twenty-four hours!
  
  Thus, there is no way this rule can hurt a legit player -- only ones who prefer to win by sneaky, underhanded methods, and RE wants no part of them (save for the instance of vacations, which RE accommodates for with the simple "Hey, I'm vacationin' ovah he'e" request).
  
  Seems more like a screwed-up understanding of the game than screwed-up battles.
  
  [Edited by MintMan on Nov 26, 2007 14:18]
Afiag

Posts: 252
Member #242

Nov 25, 2007 13:11
E-Mail Master Account Battling Dragons R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  Alright, then.
  I still don't see how my opponent's score is so far off, though. The score table indicates that he's placed 8 monsters, and that only 2 are defeated. I've killed 6, not 2. Even says so on the map.
  
  

  I dare you to click this.

MintMan

Posts: 4037
Member #1

Nov 25, 2007 13:56
E-Mail Web Site Master Account Battling Dragons Shadow Aura Endless Night's Dream R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  Well, it really doesn't help that you ended your battle after purporting an error. I mean, yeah, I'm sure that'll get resolved real fast without any trace left of any wrong goings-on.
  
  My guess, tho', is that you are doing what several before you have: confusing the "Beaten" field for monsters that you have beaten instead of monsters of yours that have been beaten.
  
  I think I and every other player would have noticed an error that glaring...
  
"Mmm, this is some tasty cantaloupe." ~ CM Punk
Afiag

Posts: 252
Member #242

Nov 25, 2007 14:28
E-Mail Master Account Battling Dragons R.E. League Reply w/ Quote Edit Post

  I wasn't confusing it.. He beat 10 of mine, I beat 6 of his. The number 2 should not have been anywhere in a field titled "Beaten."
  
  I had a sure loss, so I conceded. Sorry about that. Slanted Mouth
  
You're unique. Just like everybody else.
<- Prev Post   -   Next Post ->
Page:  1 
Jan 27, 2020 2:40 ESTReply | Topic List | Forums List | Edit Profile | Help | Sign Up


Copyright © 1999-2019